Goal Update

One of my goals for the year was to create a sustainable meal plan. After the chaos of the holidays, I have been slacking in this area which leads to us eating out more than we would like. I am needing diligence in this area. So, I created a meal plan to provide some structure for when I am planning out our week. I am hoping it will save time and wasted food. To start with, I created a Winter Menu. When March rolls around, I plan to create a spring/summer menu.

Below you will find my plan! I am sharing in case you need some spurring on as well πŸ™‚

I am not a cook by nature, therefore most of what you will find here is links. Most of these links are to Paleo recipes. We would not say that we only eat Paleo, but M has a dairy allergy and we like to eat real food and very little grains, so it is easiest to search for recipes with that label. Plus, we know that with Paleo, people have had success with losing weight, and I have some leftover baby belly and Dan just started a weight loss competition with a few guys. If you see him, encourage him!

In addition to this, M and I do not process red meat well, so I try and stick to chicken, throwing some beef in occasionally for my husband who loves it!

I tried to make the plan flexible with enough structure so I am not overwhelmed at the beginning of the week. Let me know if you try any of the recipes and enjoy them of if you have any tried and true recipes? I’d love to have them!

Winter Meal Plan

Dinner

Crockpot Monday
Lemon Chicken
Minestrone Soup
Barbecue Chicken Wings- 3 lbs chicken wings. Salt and pepper. Broil for 5 minutes. Put on crockpot with BBQ sauce.
Maple Dijon Chicken

Tuesday Soup
Ideally, I would like to make my own broth for the soup I make. It’s full of so many good nutrients if you buy a quality chicken and has less processing than those in the store. If I am in a pinch though, I will use the organic chicken broth from Mustard Seed or Earth Fare. Here is how I make it:
Buy a whole chicken. Cover in filtered water with two coarsely chopped carrots, two coarsely chopped pieces of celery, and a quartered onion. Add 1 tbs of apple cider vinegar. Let sit for an hour. The apple cider vinegar will bring out the nutrients from the bones. Bring to a boil. Skim off anything that comes to the top. Simmer for at least 6 hours. I often let mine simmer around 24 hours/ whenever is convenient to pull it off. Drain. Throw away the veggies. Wait for the chicken to cool and peel off chicken. This can be used in other recipes- back in the soup, tacos, chicken salad, etc. Then, I put the broth in the fridge. Let it cool for about an hour. Skim off any fat that can be used to fry veggies in. And that’s it! I will either use the broth for soup that week, drink it warm in the morning (the nutrients are so good for immunity), or put it in the freezer for another time.
Chicken sausage, white bean, kale soup
Veggie Soup
Tuscan Chicken Soup
Italian Miso Soup

Wednesday Breakfast for Dinner
Eggs and Bacon
Apple Pie Pancakes
Veggie Omlettes
Bacon and Egg Stuffed Avacados with Fruit Smoothie

Thursday Comfort Food
Chicken Pot Pie
Shepards Pie
Meatloaf
Chicken Tenders

Friday Date Night

Saturday Casserole/Salad
“Creamy” Chicken Casserole
Chicken Casserole
Chicken Salad with Walnuts and grapes

Sunday- Hospitality
Sloppy Joes
Tacos
Soup and Salad

Side Dish Ideas
Cauliflower Rice
Paleo Side Dish Recipes
Sweet Potato Fries
Salad
Acorn Squash
Breaded Zucchini
http://cavegirlinthecity.com/paleo-pointers-side-dishes/

Breakfast-We keep weekdays pretty simple around here, but I wanted to find some muffin recipes that I could make on the weekend!
Scrambled Eggs
Juice/smoothie
Ezekiel Bread w/ fruit
Blueberry Muffins
Lemon Poppyseed Muffins
Chocolate Chip Banana Muffins
Cinnamon Rolls
Coconut milk yogurt

Lunch
Leftovers
Hard boiled Eggs
Hummus Tray
Dairy free Mac and cheese
Almond Butter and Jelly
Salad

Happy Eating! πŸ™‚

One thought on “Goal Update

Leave a Reply

