I Am Seen

There was a couple many, many years ago who could not conceive a child. Abram and Sarai. Because of this, Sarai tells Abram to sleep with their slave, Hagar in hopes that she would become pregnant and Sarai could build a family through her. This is a custom that we do not understand, but is confirmed by other ancient texts.

Hagar becomes pregnant.
She looks down on Sarai because of her inability to do the same.

Sarai notices this attitude and begins to treat Hagar harshly. Jealousy and anger lead her to “try to force submission” and “to punish or inflict pain upon.”

Hagar runs.

In her running, she is met by an angel.
He tells her:
1. Go back and submit to Sarai. Change your attitude.
2. You will have numerous descendants
3. You will have a son named Ishmael or “God hears.” This son will be independent and live in hostility with others.

Her response?
“So she called the name of The Lord who spoke to her, “You are the God of seeing,” for she said truly I have seen him who looks after me.” Genesis 16:13

She takes note of God’s personal care for her.
She does not reflect on the content of the message delivered to her but instead on God’s character. In the midst of pain and fear, God sees.

He sees and knows.
He sees and loves.

Me.

This is a deep truth that I have spent most of the day processing.
A quiet joy because I am seen.
When I am noticed by my husband especially in times of trial, my heart is full.
How much deeper that fullness goes when I believe I am seen by the Creator of the universe.

This truth is echoed by David in Psalm 139:

7 Where can I go from your Spirit?
Where can I flee from your presence?
8 If I go up to the heavens, you are there;
if I make my bed in the depths, you are there.
9 If I rise on the wings of the dawn,
if I settle on the far side of the sea,
10 even there your hand will guide me,
your right hand will hold me fast.
11 If I say, “Surely the darkness will hide me
and the light become night around me,”
12 even the darkness will not be dark to you;
the night will shine like the day,
for darkness is as light to you.

I am praying I would remember this truth and I’m praying this for you, too. Whatever you are going through…you are seen and you are loved.

One thought on “I Am Seen

Leave a Reply

