Community

Tonight was the first night in a long time that I was able to make it out to our life group. With the holidays and sick children, I had missed quite a few weeks.

And I felt it.

I was ready to be back in the swing of things surrounded by other people in the same walk of life as me.

Dan and I recently made the switch from a college group to an adult group and we are loving learning from this new group. While we miss our old group, it is refreshing to be with people that are a few steps ahead of us, especially in parenthood.

I have already learned so much from
the other momma’s in the group and I look forward to learning more, to being encouraged, to being challenged. And on the flip side, I am excited to pour myself out to these people as well.

Beautiful.

I have joy because we were created to be in relationship.

And it is what we all crave. People to know us, understand us, and love us.

It is a comforting thing to be surrounded by people who genuinely care about you.

I am also not naive to the fact that community is hard. We are real people, with different upbringings, with tendencies to react to things that hurt us. We are human.

It is in those times that I pray I will press in. That I will not retreat into myself and build up quiet walls, but instead will choose to love, choose to give grace, and choose to be vulnerable. Because that is so much more satisfying than running away.

There are 54 “one another’s” in the New Testament. Community is a big deal to God. And these one another’s teach us how to interact with each other, already laying out that there will be challenges, but, of course, there will be joy.

Here are a few:

Rom. 12:10 Be devoted to one another with mutual affection. Honor one another above yourselves.

1 Cor. 1:10 I appeal to you, brothers and sisters, in the name of our Lord Jesus Christ, that all of you agree with one another so that there may be no divisions among you and that you may be perfectly united in mind and thought.

Eph. 4:2 Be completely humble and gentle; be patient, bearing with one another in love.

Jam. 4:11 Brothers and sisters, do not slander one another.

1 Pet. 4:8 Above all, love each other deeply, because love covers over a multitude of sins.

I am excited to live these out. I cannot do it on my own. So, I pray I would learn a whole new form of dependency. I am grateful for what I am going to learn from this group of people. I am thankful we have been led here.

(By the way, if you are looking/needing community, we would love to have you or I would love to help you find a great fit for you!)

Leave a Reply

