Faith

I was reading in Romans 14 today when I feel like God gave me a loving, yet needed kick in the butt.

All week I have been wrestling with anxiety and perfectionism, nothing new for me.

This week, however, I was aware of how much joy and attention it was stealing from my children and my husband.

I was getting tired of wrestling, of surrendering, of fleeing.

The context of Romans 14 is Paul warning his readers of judging each other, especially when it comes to what they eat. The strong should not look down on the weak if they viewed certain food as unclean and the weak should not judge the strong because they ate meat (many cultural implications here).

His point is basically we each will have to give an account for what we do or consume, not what others do, therefore do not focus on judging others, but rather seek to honor and give thanks to The Lord.

He ends with this, “For whatever does not proceed from faith is sin.”

There are many details in this chapter that are worth exploring if you are interested, but the last verse is what struck me the most.

What am I doing that does not begin with faith?

Faith glorifies God because it is me trusting Him.

“For we walk by faith, not by sight.” 2 Corinthians 5:7

“Faith is the assurance of things hoped for, the conviction of things not seen.” Hebrews 11:1

“And without faith it is impossible to please him, for whoever would draw near to God must believe that He exists and that he rewards those who seek Him.” Hebrews 11:6

Faith.

What a huge topic.

Am I living like He exists?
Do I believe He rewards me if I seek Him?

My prayer is that He would show me where I am doing things not motivated by faith. Not motivated by trusting Him, in things unseen. I want to walk in that faith. I do not want to struggle to control my surroundings and forth to be perfect on my own.

I want to please Him.

In my parenting.
In my marriage.
In my friendships.
In my health.
In my decisions.
In my life.

And I need Him to do that.

Let me proceed with faith.

20140319-190529.jpg

Leave a Reply

