Faith, Hope, and Love

Sorry for the lack of blogging.

A few reasons for the silence:
-I’m tired. So tired.
-The camera on my phone is broken. This makes posting a little less exciting to me 🙂
-We left for vacation! It was slightly crazy getting ready and now settling in to a new rhythm for the week.

I have debated giving up, but The Lord keeps reminding me of the word I chose for this year: diligence. I am being more aware of my tendency to give up. So, I’m still here! Continuing to choose joy.

Today my joy is found in the words of Paul. He writes to the Thesaalonians that he, Silvanus, and Timothy remember their “work of faith, labor of love, and steadfastness of hope.” I love this.

Faith takes work.
Love is laborious.
Hope is easy to abandon.

Paul talks again about these attributes in 1 Corinthians 13:3 when he says, “Now these three remain: faith, hope, and love.”

These are clearly Important attributes.

I want to be remembered for these as well.

This was such a good reminder to persevere and to pray for The Lord to increase these qualities in me.

And I was so beautifully reminded by a friend yesterday that Christ is my perfection. I am not going to be anywhere close to perfection this side of Heaven, so I simply need to rely on Christ in me.

So, while I desire these attributes, I also rest knowing that He who began a good work in me will finish it. And I am so thankful for the reminder to work at faith, toil in love, and be steadfast in hope.

And I get to learn all of this while staring at this:

20140609-152815.jpg

How could I not be joyful?

Leave a Reply

