MK

I cannot believe my youngest is already one!! More than ever, I understand why people tell you to soak up every moment!

For those of you that know me, you know that I love labor. So, I thought I’d share my birth story on the day of MK’s birth!

It had been three days of on and off again contractions and I was getting slightly frustrated.

Therefore, I mopped the floor on my hands and knees 🙂

The next day I had an appointment and the midwife told me that I was at 3 cm and that labor had begun. She told me I could go to the hospital, but that I would probably want to go walk around for awhile to try and get things moving before I did that. Or, she suggested taking a nap as rest can speed labor along.

I called the midwife that was planning on delivering my baby and she recommended we walk and to wait until contractions were five minutes apart and I could not talk through the contractions until we went into the hospital.

The funny part of this story was that D had just had knee surgery so he was not allowed to drive anywhere. I could not drive because of the contractions which meant we had to have our parents chauffeur us around the whole day. Talk about ironic. Having a baby while depending on our parents.

My mom took us to the mall where we walked for almost an hour- and stopped to shop- until I was tired.

We went home, I took a nap, and kept walking around our back yard.

By this time I was getting pretty frustrated because the contractions would be five minutes apart, then ten, then twelve, and they did not really hurt! I was hopeful that the excitement of the news that morning meant we would meet our baby that day.

Tired of being in the house, we rang for a different chauffeur, my dad, who again took us to the mall to walk around. We walked until they were closed and I was so annoyed that I called my midwife and told her we were just going to go into the hospital to see how far dilated I was. She did not plan on meeting me there because the contractions still were not predictable or painful.

When we arrived at the hospital, I had to have an attitude check because I was sure they were going to tell me I was only 5 or 6 cm, but to my surprise, the nurse checked me and told me I was at an 8! I could not believe it. And neither could they! They could not believe I was still so happy at this stage of labor.

D and I got put into the birthing room, my midwife showed up (she is such a blessing, by the way!), I got into the tub, and we turned on some Kenny Chesney. It was peaceful, relaxed, and fun as we caught up on life. There were only four of us in the room which was different than my labor with M because she was covered in meconium so a whole team was waiting for her when she was born. It was beautiful.

I got out of the tub, pushed for half an hour, and we got to meet our sweet little babe! I knew what to expect this time, so I was not as in shock as I was with M being a first time parent. Because of this, I felt like we soaked up every quiet moment with MK, who was very alert from the moment she was born. I look with such fondness on that labor process not only because of how quiet and peaceful it was, but because of who we got to meet!

MK is sweet, full of joy, a hardcore momma’s girl, an adventurer, and a mover. She loves jumping with, playing with, and crawling on M. Everyone that meets her says that there is “just something about her.” There is. I can’t wait to watch her grow into a little lady and I pray the Lord uses her joy in great ways for His glory.

We spent the morning with a birthday breakfast and ended the day with a birthday luau. We are extremely blessed to have family and friends that love MK and are committed to helping us raise her.

Happy birthday MK! You are deeply loved and cherished.

image copy

image copy

image-1 copy

 

Leave a Reply

