Choosing Joy

I’m going to be honest- joy has been hard for me to choose lately.

There has been chaos.
There has been exhaustion.
There has been moments where I have acted in ways that I am not proud of.
Fear has overtaken me.
And I wrestle with this choice I have committed to making. A choice to choose joy despite those circumstances.

Sure there are moments throughout my day where I see joy, but is it carrying over into my attitude?

Because really that’s what matters most.

Do I reflect the God that takes joy in me?

Like usual, He is faithful to gently teach me.

This morning I received an email from Sally Clarkson’s blog that I follow, I Take Joy. The title was learning how to choose joy.

Fitting, right?

Here is an excerpt that I have been chewing on. I hope you will, too. You can read the whole article here.

Often times, our own expectations get in the way of us being able to grab onto the joy and abundant life that God has for each of us. Finding peace and joy does not mean giving up on our ideals, but in seeking the balance, the ebb and flow, that is life. Joy won’t always feel as second nature as taking a breath, but with every breath, how can you choose joy? It is a conscious, daily effort that can transform your life if you allow it to.

“A joyful heart is good medicine, but a crushed spirit dries up the bones.”
-Proverbs 17:22

“May the God of hope fill you with all joy and peace in believing, so that by the power of the Holy Spirit you may abound in hope.”
-Romans 15:13

“Dear brothers and sisters, when troubles come your way, consider it an opportunity for great joy.”
-James 1:2

Seeking to choose joy,
S

Leave a Reply

