Washed Away

I was sitting on the beach today during the girls nap time thoroughly enjoying the waves and the sun and some music.

20140818-223131-81091695.jpg

As I was sitting there I was pondering a text my friend had sent me to let me know a specific way she was praying for me.

In it she told me that even though emotions are real, God loves me despite what they tell me, just as I am.

This alone brought joy to me in deep ways.

But it also triggered a thought for me.

A reminder of this verse :
“Come now, let us settle the matter,” says the LORD. “Though your sins are like scarlet, they shall be as white as snow; though they are red as crimson, they shall be like wool.” Isaiah 1:18

And I was humming to this song:

“It’s washed away. All my sin and all my shame.”

As I was staring at the ocean I wondered what this literal picture would look like. If I drew sin in the sand as the tide came in, what would happen?

20140818-223845-81525058.jpg

The wave came up and I was instantly filled with joy at what I saw.

20140818-224228-81748677.jpg

20140818-224229-81749544.jpg

Sin was gone. Washed away. Red turned white.

There was no digging up past etchings.
There was no squinting until I saw the word.
The wave took sin and it was totally gone.

God tells me in His word that this is what happens. That my sin in His eyes is gone. It may sound silly to you as this is a basic and fundamental truth, but the visual of that truth solidified something new in my heart today.

I needed to see it physically being washed away.

What a beautiful picture.

And freeing.

His love and His grace is vast like the ocean and He has and will continue to send waves to make me new.

Leave a Reply

