Made, Masked, Marveled

The joy dare for today are those three things. It’s interesting because those adjectives describes my day.

I tried to do a lot of making today and things just got masked.

Masked with mess and clutter and chaos.

But it was in the moments I saw the real making that I realized where joy was to be found.

20140908-215041-78641278.jpg

The beauty of watching them play together fills my heart in deep ways. I hope they continue to make memories together. Beautiful and peaceful ones.

Literally five minutes later I realized the state of “masking” my home was in.

20140908-215223-78743910.jpg

It was the end of the day. Dinner was cooking. D was almost home. And we had life group to attend. I could either choose to cling to anxiety or choose to laugh and embrace joy. Even in the mess. I’m thankful I chose the latter. A grumpy wife is no fun for anyone 🙂 This is really hard for me. I love my home to be in order and I find it very hard to function when it is not. It’s only by the grace of God that I was able to release control today.

And then we went to life group tonight. The conversation was perfect.

Talking about 1 John 2:15-17. Not being swept away by the world. Remaining committed to He who is greater than the world. Guarding ourselves against “the lust of the flesh, the lust of our eyes, and the pride of life.” A good reminder that everything does not have to be all together for me to feel all together. That is simply my pride. Instead focusing on this truth:

“As the Father has loved me, so have I loved you. Now remain in my love. If you keep my commands, you will remain in my love, just as I have kept my Father’s commands and remain in his love. I have told you this so that my joy may be in you and that your joy may be complete. My command is this: Love each other as I have loved you. Greater love has no one than this: to lay down one’s life for one’s friends.

I want my joy to be complete. And I want it to be complete by keeping his commands and not making and following my own.

Marveling at this truth.

Thankful.

And the children were marveling too… Because of donuts!!

Made, Masked, Marveled.

Focus on what marveled you today.

Leave a Reply

