He is Faithful

I have been wresting with this question this week, “Do you trust The Lord?”

In your fear do you trust him?
How about with your dreams?
Your future?
Your children?

It’s been an ongoing thought process.
Not an easy one. But certainly necessary.

Today I finished my study of 1 Thessalonians. Here is how Paul ends his letter:

Rejoice always, pray without ceasing, give thanks in all circumstances; for this is the will of God in Christ Jesus for you. 1 Thessalonians 5:16-18

Hm. So as I wrestle with fear: choose joy.

You CAN trust him.

As I question many things in my life: give thanks.

You CAN trust him.

Beth Moore says it well, “Joy is the gravity- defying grave to know that we we see is not all there is and doom is not our destiny. Unceasing rejoicing is a song on constant replay that sings, “I know my God will be faithful. I know He will turn this out well. I know what my God has promised. I know that He cannot fail.” Joy throws the heavy cloak of hopelessness on the floor and pulls the splendid clothes (Isa 61:3) from the closet.”

I want this kind of joy. I need to choose it. I don’t want to carry hopelessness which is so easy for me to put on.

And you want to know the best part? I don’t have to choose joy alone.

“Now may the God of peace sanctify you completely…He who calls you is faithful; He will surely do it.” 1 Thessalonians 5:23-24

Friends, how beautiful is this! In all the times we fail. In all the times we lack. He is faithful to refine us. To remind us to choose joy and give thanks no matter our circumstances.

And to lead us closer to trusting Him more fully.

Beautiful.

Joyful.

Rejoice today! There is so much to be thankful for.

Leave a Reply

