Everything’s Bigger in Texas

Whew! Time has slowed down for one day. I can finally update!! A lot has been happening around here. So much to be thankful for.

An event that recently brought me joy in abundance was a trip to Texas. One of my best friends was getting married and we found an awesome deal on plane trips so we decided to go! It was perfect timing as life has seemed to weigh heavily on us the last few weeks. A getaway was needed.

There was joy in the plane ride. The girls did SO well. The whole thing actually did not phase them. I was a proud momma.

IMG_2260 IMG_2258

If you know me well, you know that I love adventure. I love new places. I thrive off exploring. So, it brought me great joy to explore Dallas and Fort Worth. We found the cutest park with a kids section, books to read, and food trucks where we enjoy an ice cream sandwich. The girls loved running free!

IMG_2280 IMG_2288 IMG_2291

Then, of course, there was the wedding itself and spending time with the precious bride. A has been a great friend to me. She has known me before I ever met D, meaning she has walked through tons of life with me. I have loved continuing to build our friendship even though she lives in TX. She speaks life into me like few people can. Her relationship with the Lord is when I want to imitate. And her husband is wonderful. D and him instantly connected and have began to build a friendship, too. It was such a blessing for our family to be there to see them become one. The wedding was beautiful. It is evident that the Lord is going to use them as a couple in big ways.

IMG_2306 IMG_2432 IMG_2433

Finally, we were able to experience this grand hotel, the Gaylord Texas. It is huge and beautifully decorated for Christmas! There were options to sit on Santa’s lap, have cookies with Mrs. Claus, decorate a gingerbread house, and to enjoy their show called “Ice!” We had the privilege of seeing this and it was awe- some! Literally. They fly in 40 Chinese people to carve these astounding ice sculptures. This year’s theme was Frosty. This is our favorite Christmas movie this year, so the girls LOVED seeing all the characters. We put on huge parkas to enter the nine degree room. Then, we enjoyed the sights, and M even got to slide down an ice slide!

IMG_2322 IMG_2371 IMG_2381 IMG_2387 IMG_2392 IMG_2400 IMG_2376

The trip was a breath of fresh air for all of us. We enjoyed being together as a family- even napping together! The change of pace was needed. Seeing dear friends was needed. Getting away was needed. I am thankful we were able to travel. My soul has been refreshed and filled with joy. TX, we can not wait to visit you again!

Leave a Reply

