Day 21

Today I was given the opportunity to remember the story that sparked this whole challenge

I stepped out of the shower today to see Madison smiling. I very quickly realized, however, that I was also hearing was dripping water.

And I knew.

See, M has become very fascinated by our water jug lately.

20140225-224813.jpg

She loves to fill up her dog bowl and “feed” her stuffed animals, her Mickey figurines, even herself.

20140225-224904.jpg

Well today she filled it up and then never shut the water off. It kept on coming.

Now, I wish I could say I did what the woman did who originally gave me this idea- laugh and take a picture instead of getting mad.

No, I just got mad. I do not do so well in high stress situations.

But, as I was in the middle of being mad, I was quickly reminded- there is joy in this too.

There is joy in the pool on your kitchen floor. Seriously. I tried to lay towels down and the water just spread further.

20140225-225144.jpg

Thankfully I was given this reminder. Because as I took these pictures, the joy was evident.

Dan often says to me, “I know her personality is hard to keep up with, but I am so excited to be the people that helps her steer it. She is going to do great things.”

That is the truth I was reminded of as I stared at these towels:

A. She is just a toddler exploring her world.
B. Her personality rocks and I cannot wait to see the woman she grows into.

This definitely was not the post I intended to write today, but I am grateful to find joy in circumstances I did not expect- even if they are mundane.

Leave a comment